Florida statute 960.293(2)(a) states that a person convicted of a capital felony is liable for incarceration costs or other correctional costs in the liquidated damage amount of $250,000.
WARDEN: You are sentenced to Death. When the clock strikes 12, you will die, die, die… But before we get to that I must make you aware that you owe the state of Florida $250,000 for the costs of your incarceration. If you don’t pay before the clock strikes 12 then the fine will be converted to a civil lien. This will cause you to lose your driver’s license privileges. Your account will also be sent to collections and it will have a negative impact on your credit. Do you have any last words before you are put to death by the state of Florida.
DEATH ROW INMATE: Is there anyway I can get a stay to work out a payment plan?